Louis Wessels Command Series

Louis Wessels Command Series

by Lawrence Penning
Item: 13815
Trade Paperback
List Price: $57.75 Sale Price: $49.09

Historical Setting: The Second Boer War, South Africa 1899-1902

A wonderful historical novel series in which Penning has interwoven love, pathos, and loyalty. The conflict the Boers endure with England involves not only a fight to maintain their independence (to which the British agreed in 1881) but also a deep religious significance. Louis Wessels, eldest son of a well-established Transvaal Boer family, is betrothed to Truida, a Boer maiden living in the British colony of Natal, and educated in British-governed schools. When England sends over thousands of troops to invade the independent Boer colony of the Orange Free State, causing the Boers of the Transvaal Colony to prepare to invade Natal, the two lovers are confronted by more than a political conflict—two loyal hearts separated by loyalty to conflicting causes. The horrors of the war drag both Louis and Truida through heights of joy and depths of despair. How can these two hearts, beating strongly for each other but also strongly for their separate causes, ever be reconciled? On which side is justice to be found?


  1. Lion of Modderspruit
  2. Hero of Spionkop
  3. Scout of Christiaan de Wet
  4. Victor of Nooitgedacht
  5. Colonist of Southwest Africa
Did you find this review helpful?