Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Chronicles of Narnia Book 2
by C. S. Lewis, Pauline D. Baynes (Illustrator)
Publisher: HarperCollins
Mass market paperback, 203 pages
Not in stock

Published in 1950, this is the first book that Lewis wrote in his acclaimed Chronicles of Narnia series, but chronologically, it comes after The Magician's Nephew and is typically labeled #2. If you're reading the series for the first time, we recommend you start here!

During World War II, four children, Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy, are sent to stay at the country home of an old professor. During a game of hide-and-seek, Lucy steps into a wardrobe, only there seems to be no end to it. Just when she thinks she's found the back she steps out into a wintry forest—and the land of Narnia! There she meets a Faun named Tumnus who tells her how the White Witch has used her magic to make it always winter in Narnia, but never Christmas. She returns home to tell the rest of the children about Narnia, but when they check out her story, the magic wardrobe appears to be normal.

Later, attempting to hide from the housekeeper, all four children enter the wardrobe—and find themselves in Narnia. There they learn that the White Witch has arrested Tumnus because of his kindness to Lucy. They also learn that the Witch seeks to capture the four children, whose presence in Narnia, according to an old Narnian prophecy, signals the end of her reign.

While the Witch races to capture the children, the children hurry to meet Aslan, the rightful ruler of Narnia. Aslan has returned to release Narnia from the Witch's magical winter. Though Aslan's victory seems certain, the Witch has a few tricks up her sleeve, and the price of saving Narnia from total destruction is beyond what the children can imagine.

Did you find this review helpful?