Valley of Fear

Valley of Fear

by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Arthur Keller (Illustrator)
Publisher: SeaWolf Press
1915 Illustrated, ©2019, ISBN: 9781949460872
Print-on-demand paperback, 165 pages
List Price: $7.95 Sale Price: $6.76

A nice unabridged version of the first edition published in 1915 with 8 original illustrations.

The Valley of Fear is the fourth and final Sherlock Holmes novel by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle; it is also the 47th story about the famous detective. Be sure to read the other SeaWolf Press editions of his other three novels: The Sign of Four, A Study in Scarlet, and The Hound of the Baskervilles.

Stories #46 ("Adventure of the Dying Detective") and #48 ("His Last Bow") are both found in the collection called His Last Bow. The 49th story, called "The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone," is found in The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes.

It is loosely based on the Molly Maguires and Pinkerton agent James McParland. The first book edition was published by George H. Doran Company in 1915, and illustrated by Arthur I. Keller. The story starts with Sherlock Holmes receiving a ciphered message from an agent of Professor Moriarty but without the key to the cipher. The book is divided into two parts: The Tragedy of Birlstone and The Scowrers.

Did you find this review helpful?