Sophocles I (old)

Sophocles I (old)

The Complete Greek Tragedies
by Sophocles, David Grene (Translator), Richmond A. Lattimore (Editor)
2nd Edition, ©1991, ISBN: 9780226307923
Trade Paperback, 212 pages
List Price: $15.00 Our Price: $9.00
Used Price: $4.00 (1 in stock) Condition Policy

PLEASE NOTE: this is your last chance to buy this book. We will NOT be buying it again. Also, this book is NOT RETURNABLE, and SOLD AS-IS. It may have defects, such as highlighting, torn pages or loose cover.

Sophocles I is a collection of the three Theban plays, also known as the Oedipus Trilogy. It includes all three plays:

  • Oedipus the King
  • Oedipus at Colonus
  • Antigone

Oedipus the King, also known as Oedipus Rex, is a Greek tragedy written by Sophocles and first performed in 428 B.C. The play was the second of Sophocles' three Theban plays to be produced, but comes first in the internal chronology of the plays, followed by Oedipus at Colonus and then Antigone. Many critics, including Aristotle, consider it the greatest tragedy ever written.

The story tells of King Oedipus and his tragedy when he discovers he has inadvertently killed his father and married his mother. The play exhibits near-perfect harmony of character and action.

Other Versions:

Did you find this review helpful?