Penderwicks - 4 Book Set (original covers)

Penderwicks - 4 Book Set (original covers)

by Jeanne Birdsall
Publisher: Yearling
Box, ©2016, ISBN: 9781101937600
Trade Paperback, 270 pages
Price: $31.96

Writing in a style reminiscent of E. Nesbit, Edward Eager, and Noel Streatfield, Jeanne Birdsall's Penderwick series is delightfully nostalgic and quaintly witty.

Telling the story of the four Penderwick sisters—Rosalind, Skye, Jane and Batty—along with their widowed father and dog (Hound), the first book in the series tells the story of a summer vacation. As the series progresses, the girls grow up, the father remarries and more children are born. A fifth book has been published (with a newer style cover—hiss! hiss!), and new covers of the rest are forthcoming with a new 5-book box scheduled for October 2021.

As it is, this boxed set includes these four books:

  • The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy
  • The Penderwicks on Gardam Street
  • The Penderwicks at Point Mouette
  • The Penderwicks in Spring
Did you find this review helpful?