Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

by Howard Pyle
Publisher: Living Book Press
Print-on-demand paperback, 296 pages
Price: $14.99

When young Robin Hood commits a crime against the Sheriff of Nottingham, he is forced into hiding in Sherwood Forest. There he is joined by a group of colourful characters also escaping wrongful oppression. Along with Little John, Friar Tuck, Will Scarlet, and Tinker, Robin Hood and his Men get involved in many fine feasts and adventures, robbing the rich of their wealth and distributing it amongst the poor.

With this edition Howard Pyle renewed interest and excitement in Robin Hood and his men, while introducing elements that has influenced other writers, artists, and filmmakers ever since.

This edition is complete and unabridged, written in a colourful old English idiom and featuring sixty-nine of the author’s own decorations and illustrations.



  1. How Robin Hood Came to Be an Outlaw
  2. Robin Hood and the Tinker
  3. The Shooting Match at Nottingham Town
  4. Will Stutely Rescued by His Companions
  5. Robin Hood Turns Butcher
  6. Little John Goes to Nottingham Fair
  7. How Little John Lived at the Sheriff's
  8. Little John and the Tanner of Blyth
  9. Robin Hood and Will Scarlet
  10. The Adventure with Midge the Miller's Son
  11. Robin Hood and Allan a Dale
  12. Robin Hood Seeks the Curtal Friar
  13. Robin Hood Compasses a Marriage
  14. Robin Hood Aids a Sorrowful Knight
  15. How Sir Richard of the Lea Paid His Debts
  16. Little John Turns Barefoot Friar
  17. Robin Hood Turns Beggar
  18. Robin Hood Shoots Before Queen Eleanor
  19. The Chase of Robin Hood
  20. Robin Hood and Guy of Gisbourne
  21. King Richard Comes to Sherwood Forest


Did you find this review helpful?