Man Booker Prize

Despite its name, the Man Booker Prize is also awarded to women. In some ways the British equivalent to the National Book Award, the Man Booker has been generally accepted as far more prestigious and difficult to obtain than any other literary prize for a single work. Awarded once a year to writers within the British Commonwealth (including territories and independent Commonwealth nations), the panel of judges is a cross-section of book-related professionals: authors, poets, librarians, booksellers, etc.

There has always been a left-wing bent to the Prize, with Marxists and liberals making the cut far more often than conservative writers. However, in 1980 the Prize was given to William Golding for his book Rites of Passage—Golding wrote from a distinctly Judeo-Christian perspective. Whatever your political or religious sentiments, it's difficult to dismiss these books: the Man Booker has typically gone to stylists of the highest mark whose books and ideas have hade broad influence and appeal (many of them have also won the Nobel Prize for Literature).

We don't carry most of the novels for which the Man Booker has been awarded, but we're working on bringing in the best of them. Sometimes the judges have made odd choices, preferring flash-in-the-pan hits to more enduring works. We're obviously not standing behind every book on the list, but if you want a pretty good idea of the nature of contemporary literature these titles will give it to you. Authors who've won the Prize more than once are particularly worth investigating, as well as those who've also won the Nobel Prize for Literature.

Review by C. Hollis Crossman
C. Hollis Crossman used to be a child. Now he is a husband and father, teaches adult Sunday school in his Presbyterian congregation, and likes weird stuff. He might be a mythical creature, but he's definitely not a centaur. Read more of his reviews here.

Comprehensive List of Man Booker Prize Winners

  • 1969: P.H. Newby for Something to Answer For
  • 1970: Bernice Rubens forThe Elected Member
  • 1971: V.S. Naipaul for In a Free State
  • 1972: John Berger for G
  • 1973: J.G. Farrell for The Siege of Krishnapur
  • 1974: Nadine Gordimer for The Conservationist
  • 1975: Ruth Prawer Jhabvala for Heat and Dust
  • 1976: David Storey for Saville
  • 1977: Paul Scott for Staying On
  • 1978: Iris Murdoch for The Sea, the Sea
  • 1979: Penelope Fitzgerald for Offshore
  • 1980: William Golding for Rites of Passage
  • 1981: Salman Rushdie for Midnight’s Children
  • 1982: Thomas Keneally for Schindler’s Ark
  • 1983: J.M. Coetzee for Life & Times of Michael K
  • 1984: Anita Brookner for Hotel du Lac
  • 1985: Keri Hulme for The Bone People
  • 1986: Kingsley Amis for The Old Devils
  • 1987: Penelope Lively for Moon Tiger
  • 1988: Peter Carey for Oscar and Lucinda
  • 1989: Kazuo Ishiguro for The Remains of the Day
  • 1990: A.S. Byatt for Possession
  • 1991: Ben Okri for The Famished Road
  • 1992: Michael Ondaatje for The English Patient
  • 1993: Roddy Doyle for Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
  • 1994: James Kelman for How Late It Was, How Late
  • 1995: Pat Barker for The Ghost Road
  • 1996: Graham Swift for Last Orders
  • 1997: Arundhati Roy for The God of Small Things
  • 1998: Ian McEwan for Amsterdam
  • 1999: J.M. Coetzee for Disgrace
  • 2000: Margaret Atwood for The Blind Assassin
  • 2001: Peter Carey for True History of the Kelly Gang
  • 2002: Yann Martel for Life of Pi
  • 2003: D.B.C. Pierre for Vernon God Little
  • 2004: Alan Hollinghurst for The Line of Beauty
  • 2005: John Banville for The Sea
  • 2006: Kiran Desai for The Inheritance of Loss
  • 2007: Anne Enright for The Gathering
  • 2008: Aravind Adiga for The White Tiger
  • 2009: Hilary Mantel for Wolf Hall
  • 2010: Howard Jacobson for The Finkler Question
Did you find this review helpful?
1 Item found Print
Enchantress of Florence
by Salman Rushdie
Reprint from Anchor Books
for 9th-Adult
in 20th & 21st Century Literature (Location: LIT7-20)
$6.50 (1 in stock)