Grimms' Fairy Tales

Grimms' Fairy Tales

by Jacob Grimm (Author), Wilhelm Grimm (Author), Louis Rhead (Illustrator)
Publisher: SeaWolf Press
Print-on-demand paperback, 374 pages
List Price: $11.95 Sale Price: $10.16

A beautiful edition with 115 illustrations by Louis Rhead from the 1917 edition.

Includes 66 timeless tales including "Sleeping Beauty", "Snow White", "Cinderella", "Hansel & Grettel", and "Little Red Ridinghood."
Grimm's Fairy Tales was originally published as the Children's and Household Tales. It is a collection of fairy tales by the Grimm brothers or "Brothers Grimm", Jakob and Wilhelm. The first 86 stories were published in 1812 and this total grew to 210 tales by the 1857 edition. The first volumes were much criticized because, although they were called "Children's Tales", they were not regarded as suitable for children. Many changes were made through the editions – such as turning the wicked mother of the first edition in Snow White to a step-mother. There are different versions of other tales as well, including some name changes of characters.

In 1812, brothers Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm published a collection of German fairy tales widely known as Grimm’s Fairy Tales. The original collection of 86 stories (which later expanded to multiple volumes totaling 170 tales) has evolved over the years, through the founding of Western culture, and through various adaptations and illustrations, passed on from generation to generation with widespread influence.

Did you find this review helpful?