Four-Story Mistake

Four-Story Mistake

Melendy Quartet #2
by Elizabeth Enright
Hardcover, 272 pages
Price: $9.99

The Four-Story Mistake (1942) is a children's novel by award-winning author Elizabeth Enright. The second of her four books about the Melendy family, it is preceded by The Saturdays, and is followed by Then There Were Five, and Spiderweb for Two: A Melendy Maze.

The four Melendy children live with their father, a widowed professor of economics, and Cuffy, their beloved housekeeper. During the height of World War II, the Melendy family moves out of New York City and into the countryside. Miranda "Randy", the third child, dislikes change and is saddened by the move. But the house they move into turns out to be an adventure. Called by locals "The Four-Story Mistake", it is an odd-looking house with a rich architectural history, surrounded by the country.

The four Melendy children soon find adventure discovering the many hidden attractions of the house. Oliver discovers buried history, Rush is stranded in a tree during a storm, Randy finds a diamond in the most unlikely of places, and Mona learns what it truly means to be an actress. None of them could have guessed at the secret hidden in their very own play space, the office—a secret that had been shut away for over 60 years.

Did you find this review helpful?
Related Categories
Recommended for...