For Freedom

For Freedom

The Story of a French Spy

by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Publisher: Laurel-Leaf Books
Mass market paperback, 181 pages
Current Retail Price: $6.99
Used Price: $2.80 (2 in stock) Condition Policy

From the Newbery Honor and Schneider Award-winning author of The War that Saved My Life comes For Freedom, the thrilling true story of one of France's youngest spies during World War II and perfect for fans of Code Name Verity and The Diary of Anne Frank.
 

Suzanne David's everyday life is suddenly shattered in 1940 when a bomb drops on the main square of her hometown, the city of Cherbourg, France, killing a pregnant neighbor right in front of her. Until then the war had seemed far away, not something that would touch her or her teenage friends. Now Suzanne's family is kicked out onto the street as German soldiers take over their house as a barracks.
   

Suzanne clings to the one thing she really loves--singing. Her voice is so amazing that she is training to become an opera singer. As Suzanne travels around for rehearsals, costume fittings, or lessons, she learns more about what the Nazis are doing and about the people who are "disappearing." Her travels are noticed by someone else, an organizer of the French Resistance. Soon Suzanne is a secret courier, a spy fighting for France and risking her own life for freedom.

Content Warning:  This is a novel about war that opens with a bombing.  There are some descriptions of death that may be disturbing.

Did you find this review helpful?