Bible Wise Series

Bible Wise Series

by Carine Mackenzie
Item: 22988
Current Retail Price: $51.87
Not in stock

See series description for full review.

This collection of 13 beautifully illustrated Bible stories takes the lives of bible characters from both the Old and New Testament, retells them in a way that’s easy for children to read and understand, and has some of the best explanations of bible stories that we've seen. The second of a two-part series, Bible Wise is intended for slightly older children (ages 4-6 to read to, 6-9 to read to themselves), and have longer narrative and more sophisticated style and language.

This series does a good job of condensing and summarizing the events and ideas surrounding the lives of the Bible characters. Rather than giving basic outline of events like many children’s versions of bible stories do, these books include direct quotes from scripture (especially quotes from Jesus), and they always draw morals and implications from the dialogue and the text. For instance, In Barnabas the Encourager, it is concluded from reading about Barnabas’ life that it is hugely important to be an encouragement and a blessing to our brothers in Christ. These books don’t fictionalize or deviate too far from the actual scripture, and include the themes and messages of the original scripture while making many observations of their own. The short length and fun illustrations make these series appealing to children and fun to read. Whether kids read them on their own or have them read to them, they are sure to be both instructed and entertained.

Read to Me: ages 4-6
Read on My Own: ages 6-9

For a similar set for younger children, see the Bible-Time Series.


Did you find this review helpful?