Baron of Salgas

Baron of Salgas

The Cross and the Crown & The Carpenter of Nîmes

Huguenot Inheritance Series #9
by Deborah Alcock
Trade Paperback, 226 pages
Price: $14.95

The Baron of Salgas (by Sabine Malplach) is the true story of the Baron and Baroness de Salgas. Even though her husband forbids her to be an open Huguenot, the Baroness knows that her Saviour had said that whoever would deny Him would be denied by Him. So one night she made her escape to Geneva. Would her husband follow? Would he recant? What would happen to their sons who were taken to the convents?

The Cross and the Crown(by Deborah Alcock) tells about a man by the name of Gabriel Vaur. After the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes (1685), life once again became very dangerous for the Huguenots in France. When the Dragonnades came, Gabriel tried to get help, leaving his father, sister, and brother behind. Would he ever see them again? Would he ever be able to flee France and reach England?

The Carpenter of Nîmes (by Deborah Alcock) goes back more than a century to the year 1569 and tells about a man named Jacques Maderon. When the pastor tells him that Christ had said, "Son, go work today in My vineyard," he knows it is time to do something. Then the father of his friend was imprisoned. Would he succeed to cut the bars of the gate and so make way for the Huguenots to enter the city and deliver it?

Did you find this review helpful?
Series Description
Recommended for...