American Fairy Tales

American Fairy Tales

From Rip Van Winkle to the Rootabaga Stories

by Neil Philip (Compiler), Michael McCurdy (Illustrator)
1st Edition, ©1996, ISBN: 9780786802074
Hardcover, 160 pages
Not in stock

An impressive collection of American folktales includes stories by such esteemed authors as Washington Irving, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Louisa May Alcott, and Carl Sandburg, and includes an afterword which traces the development of the American fairy tale.


  • Preface - Alison Lurie
  • "Rip Van Winkle" - Washington Irving
  • "The Rich Man's Place" - Horace E. Scudder
  • "What They Did Not Do on the Birthday of Jacob Abbott B., Familiarly Called Snibbuggledyboozledom" - M. S. B.
  • "The Bee-Man of Orn" - Frank Stockton
  • "The Apple of Contentment" - Howard Pyle
  • "Rosy's Journey" - Louisa May Alcott
  • "The Glass Dog" - L. Frank Baum
  • "The Golden Windows" - Laura E. Richards
  • "The Princess Who Could Not Dance" - Ruth Plumly Thompson
  • "The Lad and Luck's House" - Will Bradley
  • "How They Broke Away to Go to the Rootabaga Country" - Carl Sandburg
  • Afterword - Neil Philip
Did you find this review helpful?