101 Hymn Stories - audio book on CD

101 Hymn Stories - audio book on CD

The Inspiring True Stories Behind 101 Favorite Hymns

by Kenneth W. Osbeck, Wayne Shepherd (Reader)
Publisher: Oasis Audio
Audio CD
Used Price: $12.00 (1 in stock) Condition Policy

This collection of uplifting, informative stories behind your favorite hymns will warm your heart and revitalize your worship. Each entry comes with the hymn's full text and musical score.

Perfect for devotions, sermon illustrations, bulletin insets, and introducing congregational hymns, each hymn story includes information about the author, composer, the tune's name, meter, and scriptural basis.

Table of Contents:


  1. A Mighty Fortress Is Our God
  2. Abide with Me
  3. All Creatures of Our God and King
  4. All Hail the Power
  5. All the Way My Savior Leads Me
  6. Amazing Grace
  7. Angles from the Realms of Glory
  8. Battle Hymn of the Republic
  9. Be Still My Soul
  10. Beneath the Cross of Jesus
  11. Blessed Assurance
  12. Blest Be the Tie that Blinds
  13. Christ the Lord is Risen Today
  14. Come, Thou Almighty King
  15. Come, Thou Fount
  16. Count Your Blessing
  17. Day by Day
  18. Day is Dying in the West
  19. Deeper and Deeper
  20. Doxology
  21. Fairest Lord Jesus
  22. Faith of Our Fathers
  23. For the Beauty of the Earth
  24. From Every Stormy Wind that Blows
  25. From Greenland's Icy Mountain
  26. Guide Me, O Thou Great Jehovah
  27. Great Is Thy Faithfulness
  28. He Leadeth Me
  29. Hiding in Thee
  30. Hold the Fort
  31. Holy, Holy, Holy
  32. How Firm a Foundation
  33. How Great Thou Art
  34. I Gave My Life for Thee
  35. I Heard the Voice of Jesus Say
  36. I Love Thy Kingdom
  37. I Love to Tell the Story
  38. I Sing the Mighty Power of God
  39. I Will Sing the Wondrous Story
  40. I'll Stand By Until the Morning
  41. In Christ There is No East or West
  42. In the Cross of Christ I Glory
  43. In the Garden
  44. It is Well with My Soul
  45. Jesus, Lover of My Soul
  46. Jesus Loves Even Me
  47. Jesus Love Me
  48. Jesus Shall Reign
  49. Jesus, the Very Thought of Thee
  50. Jesus, Thy Blood and Righteousness
  51. Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee
  52. Just as I Am
  53. Lead, Kindly Light
  54. Lead On, O King Eternal
  55. Look, Ye Saints! The Sight is Glorious
  56. Majestic Sweetness Sits Enthroned
  57. May Jesus Christ Be Praised
  58. My Country, Tis' of Thee
  59. My Redeemer
  60. My Savior First of All
  61. Nearer, My God, to God
  62. Now Thank We All Our God
  63. Now the Day is Over
  64. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
  65. O For a Thousand Tongues
  66. O God, Our Help in Ages Past
  67. O Little Town of Bethlehem
  68. O Love that Wilt Not Let Me Go
  69. O Master, Let Me Walk with Thee
  70. O That Will be Glory
  71. O Word of God Incarnate
  72. O Worship the King
  73. Onward Christian Soldiers
  74. Peace, Perfect, Peace
  75. Praise Ye the Lord, the Almighty
  76. Rescue the Perishing
  77. Ring the Bells of Heaven
  78. Rock of Ages
  79. Savior, Again To Thy Dear Name
  80. Silent Night! Holy Night!
  81. Sing Praise to God Who Reigns Above
  82. So Send I You
  83. Softly and Tenderly
  84. Spirit of God, Descend upon My Heart
  85. Sun of My Soul
  86. Stand Up for Jesus
  87. Take My Life and Let it Be
  88. The Church's One Foundation
  89. The Day of Resurrection
  90. The God of Abraham Praise
  91. The Ninety and Nine
  92. The Old Rugged Cross
  93. The Sands of Time are Sinking
  94. The Star-Spangled Banner
  95. There is a Fountain
  96. There is a Green Hill Far Away
  97. This is My Father's World
  98. Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne
  99. What a Friend We Have in Jesus
  100. When I Survey the Wondrous Cross
  101. While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks

Selected Bibliography
Index of Authors, Translators, Composers, Tune Names

Unabridged, 8 CDs

Did you find this review helpful?