Oresteia Trilogy

Oresteia Trilogy

Agamemnon, The Libation-Bearers and The Furies

Dover Thrift Editions
by Aeschylus
Publisher: Dover Publications
Mass market paperback, 151 pages
Price: $5.00

Perhaps the greatest of the Greek tragedians, Aeschylus wrote 90 plays, but only seven have survived complete. Among them is this classic trilogy dealing with the bloody history of the House of Atreus.

In Agamemnon, the warrior who defeated Troy returns to Argos and is murdered by his wife Clytemnestra for sacrificing their daughter Iphigenia before the Trojan War. In The Libation-Bearers (Choephoroi), Orestes, Agamemnon's son, avenges his father by murdering his mother. In The Furies (Eumenides), Orestes flees to Delphi, pursued by Apollo, he makes his way to Athens and is there tried (and acquitted) at the court of Areopagus.

Written in a grand style, rich in diction and dramatic dialoged, the plays embody Aeschylus' concerns with the destiny and fate of both individuals and the state, all played out under the watchful eye of the gods. Still powerful and provocative after 2500 years, these great tragedies offer unparalleled insight into the world of ancient Greece and the origins of the Western dramatic tradition.

The Oresteia trilogy is comprised of Agamemnon, The Libation Bearers, and The Eumenides.

Did you find this review helpful?
Series Description
Related Categories
Recommended for...